Archive for August 17th, 2010

R.I.P.

Sometimes there’s an amazing synchronicity among the clients in my practice.  And sometimes the synchronicity that so suddenly appears is sad and disturbing. 

Recently I had therapy sessions a number of people, none known to the others, who had suffered the death of a loved one.  Some deaths were the natural conclusion to a life well-lived, while a few were due to sudden and senseless violence.  One client tearfully shared with me memories of her mom, and the next day a father shared this memorial poem for his son.  I’m now sharing it with, and for everyone. 

       I’M FREE

Don’t grieve for me, for now I’m free

I’m following the path laid out for me

I took the hand when I heard the call

I turned my back and left it all

I could not stay another day

To laugh, to love, to work or play

Tasks left undone must stay that way

If my parting has left a void

Fill it with remembered joy.

A friendship shared, a laugh, a kiss

Ah yes, these things I too will miss.

Perhaps my time seems all to brief

Don’t lengthen it now with undue grief.

                                               Lift up your heart and share with me

                                                   I’m at peace,

and I am free.

 My clients had not yet found peace, and each one needed a place to let tears and memories freely flow.  This is always such a  difficult and precious time to spend with someone, and a privilege beyond measure.

Rest In Peace:  All those who were lost

Live Peacefully:  All those who are left. 


August 2010
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other subscribers